Thursday, December 1, 2011

New Track Rundown

It’s been awhile since I posted anything in this space. The holidays had me traveling a lot and I wasn’t even by a computer long enough to jot down more than a thought or two. That doesn’t mean I haven’t been keeping up with music and discovering new and exciting tracks. Below you can find a rundown of what I have been listening to in my two week absence. I was probably the most excited about the news that Guided by Voices are reuniting with their classic lineup and have a new album coming out in January. If the single “The Unsinkable Fats Domino” is any indication, it’s going to be quite enjoyable. The new records from Tom Waits and Richard Swift, Bad as Me and Walt Wolfman respectively, have dominated my listening habits which I’m sure you will understand why after listening to the songs in the playlist.

Other highlights include Boston’s Carter Tanton who has a gorgeous new song featuring the always wonderful Marissa Nadler. In other big reunion news, Mazzy Star is staging a comeback and “Common Burn” shows that they can return to their former glory with ease. If you are looking for a great EP that flows effortlessly and is both body-moving and thought-provoking, Phantogram have you covered with their latest effort, Nightlife. In the ‘albums that most people besides myself are going to hate’ category, David Lynch has released his first solo album, Crazy Clown Time. The opening track and probably most accessible is “Pinky’s Dream” featuring the Yeah Yeah YeahsKaren O. If you are wondering what the album sounds like, it sounds like a David Lynch film put to record. Yeah, it’s that weird and could only be described as “Lynchian”. Hear all this and more below.

Guided by Voices – “The Unsinkable Fats Domino”

Tom Waits – “Bad as Me”

Richard Swift – “MG 333”

Carter Tanton – “Fake Pretend” feat. Marissa Nadler

Delta Rae – “Bottom of the River”

Mazzy Star – “Common Burn”

Phantogram – “Nightlife”

David Lynch – “Pinky’s Dream” feat. Karen O

The Skull Defekts – “Childrenerdlihc"


ANR – “Bad Shit”

Waters – “Mickey Mantle”

Chairlift – “Sidewalk Safari”

Brick + Mortar – “Heatstroke”

Keep Shelly in Athens – “Lazy Noon”

Still Corners – “Cuckoo”

Lonesome Ghost – “Seashell”

Orca Orca – “Change of Pace”

Dirty Virgins – “I Like You”

You Won’t – “Who Knew”

We Cut Corners – “Go Easy”

Bill Baird – “Hard So Hard”

Stephen Malkmus exceeded all my expectations with Mirror Traffic, his latest record with The Jicks. It sounds like a bona fide classic and now there is a star-studded and hilarious video to complement standout “Senator.” Another one of 2011’s best, M83 finally have an official video for the infectious “Midnight City” that serves as a wonderful if not creepy accompaniment to the song. I caught the band on their recent tour and I have to mention that it is one you are not going to want to miss if you have the chance to see them. Another one of the more memorable songs of the year is Summer Camp’s “Down” and the video is equally as unforgettable. It is comprised of a series of visually eye pleasing GIFs from a Halloween party.

The Ting Tings and Arctic Monkeys both have new songs with fantastic videos to match. “Evil Twin” is a b-side to “Suck It and See” by Arctic Monkeys and the video serves as a sequel of sorts to the video for that single. So many bands try to capture 80s nostalgia but it comes off as forced or gimmicky. If there was a band that nailed the aesthetic, it would be Friends with their video for “I’m His Girl.” And listen to that bassline! Lastly, I have to mention the NSFW animated video for "Fantasy" by DYE. I don’t want to write too much about it but be prepared to have your mind violated. Watch these and other standouts from the past month.

No comments:

Post a Comment