Thursday, August 5, 2010

Evacuation in Case of Exploding Sound

My good friends over at Exploding in Sound are back with another entry in their consistently solid compilation series. This time around there is double the pleasure. Open Hand, who I have been waiting to hear new music from for just about forever, kick things off with “Herrons”, a delicious slab of stoner rock. The glorious "A Far Cry" from We Were Promised Jetpacks, which is a song I've ranted and raved about before, finds is way onto the compilation as well.

Other highlights on the first half include a track by my recent obsession, Maps & Atlases and newcomers Red Bellows who feature a song that is sure to impress. I recently saw Doomstar! and was blown away by their live show so its good to see them get some exposure here. Also of note, the always-consistent Wintersleep contribute the title-track, a spacey jam, from their excellent new full-length New Inheritors.

The second disc starts with The Twilight Sad's noisy stomp "Reflections in the Television" followed by Caspian who contribute a song that shows why they are at the forefront of post-rock. This disc showcases the diversity in these compilations and even plays with the heavier side of the spectrum with some sludge courtesy of Disappearer. One of my favorite new finds Grass is Green have an intelligent and interesting song that pays homage to the more technical side of the 90s alternative scene.

I have been talking about how I miss good get-you-pumped rock and roll and no one is doing it better than hometown heroes Gozu. They bring some serious, relentless rock for fans of Soundgarden and Monster Magnet. Additional bands I really enjoyed that I hadn't previously heard include Jacob Turnbloom, Helms Alee, Solare, and Crooked Mountain, Crooked Sea.

Also, if you get the chance, make sure to catch Grass is Green, RIBS, Solar Powered Sun Destroyer, and The Dirty Dishes at the Exploding in Sound showcase at Church in Boston, MA on August 8, 2010. It's one of the best bars/venues in Boston and yours truly will be there. Come say hi, I'll be the one passed out face down on the floor (it's on my birthday).

Download the compilation and discover some new favorites for yourself. The press release is below along with the download link. Enjoy.

IN CASE OF EVACUATION, remain calm and allow Exploding In Sound to be your guide. It is amazing what can be accomplished in the span of two and a half years. Since the inception of Exploding In Sound, our aim has been to bring great new music to an ever-growing audience. A simplistic mission statement from one music obsessed fan with a desire to help the artists that deserve to be heard. With that said… ladies and gentlemen, it is an unbelievable honor for me to present you with the newest release in the beloved compilation series… IN CASE OF EVACUATION, with a line-up that can't be missed!! A compilation of epic magnitude, there is so much great new music contained within that we had to make it a double album. The FREE DIGITAL DOWNLOAD contains two discs worth of music from some of the greatest bands of our time, brought to you exclusively by EIS. IN CASE OF EVACUATION features over 30 bands from around the globe including: We Were Promised Jetpacks, Caspian, Maps & Atlases, Wintersleep, Open Hand, Red Fang, Slang Chickens, Helms Alee, Imaad Wasif, LaFaro, Crippled Black Phoenix, The Twilight Sad, Old Canes, Black Helicopter, and so many more incredible bands. The music contained within your emergency evacuation supply transcends through all subgenres of rock, not concerned with what is cool or trendy, but rather with what is artistic, pure, and well… rocks. IN CASE OF EVACUATION captures the true essence of the site, combining the music of critically acclaimed and well-established acts with the up-and-coming bands that are virtually unknown to the masses. Exploding In Sound remains dedicated to both, helping to spread the word of great rock to all with an open ear.

Sharing of the download link is HIGHLY recommended and encouraged to anyone and everyone you think might be interested. As this is a FREE compilation, the goal is to gain the maximum audience achievable, and word of mouth is always appreciated. Enjoy.


Thank you to everyone who promoted the previous releases, and I can only hope you will continue to show your support for the site and our cause. To all those that are new to EIS, I look forward to working with you in the future!


  1. Open Hand – Herrons
  2. Black Helicopter – Invasion of Prussia
  3. We Were Promised Jetpacks – A Far Cry
  4. Crippled Black Phoenix – Troublemaker
  5. Geronimo! – Thunderbattles
  6. Maps & Atlases – Solid Ground
  7. Old Canes – Little Bird Courage
  8. Me You Us Them – Pretty Nettles
  9. Wintersleep – New Inheritors
  10. Anakin – Abort.Retry.Fail
  11. Doomstar! – Sharon Mitchel
  12. LaFaro – Tupenny Nudger
  13. Left Lane Cruiser – Hillgrass Bluebilly
  14. Weird Owl – Mirror in the Mud
  15. Red Bellows – L.S. Blues
  16. Awesome Color – Slaughterhouse
  17. Gods are Ghosts – Bloodstream
  1. The Twilight Sad – Reflections in the Television
  2. Caspian – Of Foam and Wave
  3. Disappearer – A Skull Full of Bats
  4. Imaad Wasif – Razorlike
  5. Jacob Turnbloom – Your Soul Can Be Sold
  6. Grass is Green – Greenville
  7. Hold Your Horse Is – Christopher Walken
  8. Red Fang – Good to Die
  9. Gozu – Meat Charger
  10. Helms Alee – A New Roll
  11. Actors & Actresses – Dig to China
  12. Solare – Winners
  13. The World Concave – Jehovah’s Witness Protection Program
  14. Sky Parade – I Should Be Coming Up (But I Keep Coming Down)
  15. Digital Homicide – Transmission
  16. The Black Shades – Don’t Put Salt On My Grave
  17. Crooked Mountain, Crooked Sea – Any Port In A Storm

1 comment: